Free Verse, Poetry by Sarah

Calm Before The Storm


Image credit By Sarah ©

It’s getting eerie quiet
The clouds are turning grey
Thunder screams across the sky
The birds have flown away

Dancing on the mountains
Shadows mark them as their own
The barren eucalyptus branches
Start to creak and groan

The wind picks up its tailcoats
And howls around the place
Its blustering rage assaults me
My heart begins to race

The air smells thick of ozone
Electric shivers on my skin
Lightning strike is eminent
Any moment will begin

The calm before the storm
Tells me “Hey, it’s time to go!”
But something keeps me planted
I want to see the show

By Sarah ©2017

Prompt: Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Music Prompt #8 – Calm Before The Storm

9 thoughts on “Calm Before The Storm”

    1. Thank you 😊 there’s something so exciting and exhilarating about a storm…perhaps it’s the element of danger…or that cosy rugged up feeling when you’re out of its grasp . I agree though, beach storms are the best

      Liked by 2 people

  1. I enjoyed this a lot, the internal rhymes, the rhymes at the end of the second and 4th lines, and the definite rhythm and meter thus poem has! I love it because it creates tension and moves the poem, and the storm forward. You chose beautiful words and I very much understand your speakers thoughts at the end, the silence, the clouds abs everything tellmg her the storm is coming, that it will be a bad one, yet at the same time wanting to witness this danger. Wonderful writing, thank you so much for participating!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

