Free Verse, Poetry by Sarah

The Pilgrimage

Park car.
Gather yourself.
Rally spirit.

Breathe.



Today, we sit in the garden.
We watch magpies;
feel sun on skin.

The leaves are turning
and I say,
‘It’s Autumn now.’

I can see the surprise.
Time’s passing,
her eyes reply.

I make a cuppa.
She complains.
Too strong

I try again.
Too weak

The third attempt.
Just right

I call her ‘Goldilocks,’
eliciting a cheeky smile.

When it’s time to say goodbye,
I notice the moon…

Sometimes, full
Sometimes, waning


…and follow it home.

I’ll keep making this journey.

Until it is gone.

By Sarah ©2024

Sammi Scribbles:
Weekend Writing Prompt, #361 – pilgrimage (93 words)

2 thoughts on “The Pilgrimage”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.