A-Z Challenge, Challenges by Sarah

In The Corner – Pages

P is for Pages

Pages and pages of empty white, fill today’s corner.

Believe it or not, this whole room is actually an art installation called, ‘Untitled‘ by Wilfredo Prieto.

Known colloquially as The White Library, this work is a collection of 6,000 entirely blank books, filling a dedicated space on the second floor at MONA.

This exhibit left me quite speechless. Amid the serenity of the white, library-like surroundings perusing book upon book of emptiness, I felt a strange sense of unease and loss… but also of potential and opportunity.

I wondered, to what end does this artwork serve us. Does it remind that pages should be filled with stories? That it is up to us to tell our tales? Or perhaps, it’s the exact opposite. Is it a commentary on empty words that have no meaning? That we have nothing of any value left to say? (I sincerely hope not)!

The room also reminded me of one of my favourite songs by Mumford and Sons, White Blank Page.

I think the promise of a white blank page is extremely powerful. It signifies new beginnings, a fresh opportunity, a desire to be filled, or at least bear a mark.

And if it doesn’t work out, I guess you can always scrunch it up (or press delete) and try again…

7 thoughts on “In The Corner – Pages”

  1. I hope it was to signify potential. I have a feeling it was your other thought though. I have quite a few empty hard cover books. I just can’t seem to use them in a way that goes with their real bookish being.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.