A-Z Challenge, Challenges by Sarah

D is for Democracy

Australia is a representative democracy. In this political system, eligible people vote for candidates to govern on their behalf. Australia’s system of government—its institutions and practices—reflect British and North American traditions combined in a way that is uniquely Australian.

Australia is a federation, a constitutional monarchy and a parliamentary democracy.

This means that Australia:

– Has a Queen, who resides in the United Kingdom and is represented in Australia by a Governor-General.

– Is governed by a ministry headed by the Prime Minister.

– Has a two-chamber Commonwealth Parliament to make laws.

– A government, led by the Prime Minister, which must have a majority of seats in the House of Representatives.

– Has eight State and Territory Parliaments.

Canberra is the heart of Australia’s democracy. As the national capital, parliament convenes here in our unique Parliament House.

View of Old Parliament House (front white building) and Parliament House, from Anzac Parade, Canberra ACT

Parliament House, Canberra ACT

A-Z Challenge – D

1 thought on “D is for Democracy”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.