Scribblings by Sarah, Stories by Sarah

Mayday

The ghost tour had been uneventful so far, and I felt somewhat disgruntled at having paid extra for the EMF meter and infrared goggles. We had been into the women’s ward, the men’s ward (affectionaly known as the ‘bullpit’) and the laundry – with no activity at all.

As the tour guide opened the door to the new building, she announced dramatically, “This is Olivene where we held the worst of the worst; the criminally insane.”

I stepped inside the courtyard. Rooms that more resembled cells, formed an ‘L’ around the central space, with an ‘L’ the other way, consisting of open bathrooms and a dining area. Even in broad daylight, this place would give you chills.

The guide continued but I had zoned out, her voice static in the background. My eye was drawn to one of the doorways. I shuddered and stepped closer, despite every instinct telling me to run. My EMF meter started to light up. Rooted to the ground, my shaking hands lifted the infrared goggles. As I peered through them, a solid shadow of a man filled the cell. I whirled around, bumping into the shelving next to me. And that’s when I saw the head…

By Sarah ©2017

Author’s Note: My response to the prompt is based on a real experience I had (except for the head part!). I was on an investigative ghost tour at the old Mayday Hills Lunatic Asylum in Beechworth, Victoria and saw through the infrared goggles, a man where there was none. Believe it or not. If you are ever in the area, it is a VERY interesting place with an awful and fascinating history. Find out more about the history and tours by clicking on the appropriate word for the link.

Prompt: Sunday Photo Fiction – July 30th 2017, 200 word limit; Daily Post Daily Prompt: continue

21 thoughts on “Mayday”

    1. It was a terrifying experience and I’ve given up the ‘ghost’ – now staying out of all things supernatural. I took it as a warning. Beechworth is amazing. The gardens are the old asylum are something though!

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Wow amazing story that would be terrifying! Asylums were such terrible places in some places in the past. I have in mind this horror movie “House On Haunted Hill” maybe? Anyways it’s with 6 or so people locked in the asylum for a night, if they make it to the morning they get $1 Millionbut some terrible things were practiced there on the patient’s whose souls were trapped there. Great writing!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

