Free Verse, Poetry by Sarah

Whispering Wind 

I’m not a lady who thinks
all that glitters is gold
So, I don’t believe
everything that I am told.

For I learnt long ago
Words can have two meanings,
And you best be sure of
the way that they’re leaning.

We all seek heaven
For the here and the now
But sometimes we miss
The way,  and the how.

When I look to the left
And my spirit is leaving,
I can change my path
Despite my heart grieving.

For though I wish to
shine only white light,
I know of my dreams.
I know of what might.

There are those who watch,
And those who do,
and the smoke screen is all to 
distinguish between the two.

None of us are innocent.
None of us are pure.
We each play our part,
of that you can be sure.

And as my transgressions float
Across the whispering wind,
They remind me of all
The ways I have sinned.

I’m not the same person
I was ten years ago,
yet my deeds still follow me
wherever I may go.

When the piper comes for me
with shadows, taller than my soul,
I promise I will tell my secrets,
Yes; I will tell them all.

By Sarah ©2017

Prompt: Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Music Prompt #10, response to Led Zeppelin’s “Stairway to Heaven”

11 thoughts on “Whispering Wind ”

  1. Wonderfully written poem using some of the song lyrics rhymes with your own words. A bit dark but at least as I know it All of us end up at judgement on that last day reciting our many sins. Beautifully done such flow as Wind Kisses says. Thank you for participating this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

