Haibun, Poetry by Sarah

Demise

A vague sadness passed over me, as the choice presented itself again. I swilled the amber liquid in my glass, and wished, in an offhand way, that it was nepenthe; the sweet medicine of the soul. But my sallow skin, and the reappearance of terrible pangs, reminded me otherwise. Nonetheless, I savoured this, my fourth glass of the bitter, Neolithic drug. I had climbed too far, too soon and now it was either abdicate or perish…and I had chosen for my spectacular finale, both.

never to admit
defeat; choosing refuge in
eternal silence
 


By Sarah ©2017 



*nepenthe (noun) – A drug or drink, or the plant yielding it, mentioned by ancient writers as having the power to bring forgetfulness of sorrow or trouble. anything inducing a pleasurable sensation of forgetfulness, especially of sorrow or trouble

^abdicate(verb) – to renounce or relinquish a throne, right, power, claim, responsibility, or the like, especially in a formal manner 

Prompt: Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Wordle #164; Daily Post Daily Prompt, Word: savour
Words used: climb, vague, sadness, perish, pangs, nepenthe, neolithic, four, offhand, reappear, sallow, abdicate 

3 thoughts on “Demise”

  1. Great use of the wordle this week Sarah – thanks for playing along 🙂

    I really like how you’ve infused this with just enough edge and mystery – not explaining why sallow skinned – lets the mind wander into the unknown – and then the ending – abdicate or perish? – both – how powerful; and I have to say, the Haiku is wistful indeed – really captured that essence or feeling – great job all around!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

