Free Verse, Poetry by Sarah, Scribblings by Sarah

Beautiful Lies

How many days had I been here?
Sitting at this table,
Watching the flowers wilt and die.
As he cooks me up his special brew.

Spices; herbs; stirred with a clear elixir.
My dear, this will fix your headache.
My love, your pain will dissipate.
My darling, you’re too excitable.

Let me ease your womanly discomforts.
But they were all beautiful lies.
A recipe for keeping me here.
Captive.

Addicted.
Dying.
Dead now.
Like the flowers.

I’m cast aside for his next target
He tells more beautiful lies,
To anyone who will listen.
It is all too easy.

by Sarah ©2017

Prompt: Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Sunday Writing Prompt, July 16, 2017 – Fine Dining Kitchen Tricks

11 thoughts on “Beautiful Lies”

  1. Great writing here Sarah! Indeed, macabre, but well done – wonderful how you’ve teased out essences!
    But they were all beautiful lies.
    A recipe for keeping me here.
    Captive.

    The brevity of this – these lines, the language, it’s almost soporific – I feel drugged myself – but for the bite of the words – they catch the punch of the deceit. Well done Sarah!

    thanks for playing the Sunday writing prompt 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

