Haibun, Poetry by Sarah

Wishful Thinking


I gaze at the endless white, powdery sand. The coastline stretches for miles and the cerulean blue of the sea looks cool and inviting. A light breeze tussles with grasses in the sand dunes and seagulls try their luck with the families picnicking on the shoreline. The sun is shimmering on the water. I can almost feel my toes wiggling in the shallows, seeking purchase as the gentle waves lap over my ankles, teasing that they may drag me out to sea. I inhale and taste the salt on my tongue. I exhale and give a groan, because it’s all just wishful thinking. I look down at my list – still another 12 rooms to clean before the end of my shift. Sometimes I loathed working at the holiday resort.

a job to be done
not vacation time for some
the unsung hero

By Sarah ©2017

Prompt: Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille – July 5th, 2017, vacation

1 thought on “Wishful Thinking”

Leave a Reply

