Haibun, Poetry by Sarah, Scribblings by Sarah

Love Breaks My Bones

I lay on the feathery bed, impatient; waiting; wanting. My body is swooning at the mere thought of you. I glance at the clock and wince with longing. It feels an age until you will be home. Time seems to go slower when you’re not around, and speed up in keeping with my heartbeat, when you are. I ache for you to be one with my skin. To feel what I feel, to know what I know, to dream what I dream for –  being so close as if we are one whole, complete only when together. We are a formidable team – loyal; strong; indestructible; cherished. You finally arrive home, and as I crush you into me, you whisper, “Love breaks my bones and I laugh”.

this flowering love
with laughter sees our flaws as
petals not yet thorns

 

By Sarah ©2017

Prompt: Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Saturday’s Hunt-01 July 2017 and Sunday Writing Prompt – July 2, 2017, Love Flowers

7 thoughts on “Love Breaks My Bones”

  1. thanks for playing the Sunday writing prompt Sarah 🙂 I think you’ve done a great job of it – combining the two prompts together works really well – it definitely works as a Haibun – sort of – and the sort of is just because my definition and understanding of Haibun is a bit rusty – anyhow, the introduction and then the Haiku are good together – and I especially love what you did with the Haiku – it’s a great sentiment and essence – so yup, this is good stuff 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks…I thought to two prompts worked hand in hand quite nicely too. I have only just really started experimenting with haibun ( think this is my 4th attempt) Their structure is a little “flexible” with the combinations of prose and Haiku and also, the number of them! so I stuck with a simple prose then Haiku for this one 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

