Scribblings by Sarah

Flashing Man

Walking across the street in Auckland is fun! Not only does the little green man actually walk (and moon walk at that!) he also counts down how long you’ve got to cross once he starts flashing! 

This morning I approached the crossing and noted there were 10 seconds to go. I had this, I thought to myself and broke into a scamper. Halfway across the intersection a Maori man, approaching from the other direction, had done the same thing. 

He made a funny little victory cry complete with fist pump, grinned at me and said, “We’re gonna make it hey?!”

Yes, my man. We were…and we did.

Such a simple yet intimate interaction with this stranger made my day! I smiled the whole way down to the pier to catch my ferry. 

Then I caught a glimpse of my reflection and stopped. People might think I was up to something!

By Sarah

Prompt: Daily Post Daily Prompt, Word: scamper

9 thoughts on “Flashing Man”

  1. I often find myself smiling walking down the road. It could be from seeing a bird, or a dog, or someone I know, but more often than not it’s because something amusing has just gone through my mind. I often wonder what passersby make of it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Thanks so much!!! I am only just properly catching up on notifications after being away for eight days and am honoured you have nominated me. I will endeavour to respond in the next couple of days. Thanks again 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

