Scribblings by Sarah, Stories by Sarah

Pearl’s

I walked down the empty street, feeling edgy. The usual hustle and bustle of people was eerily absent at this late hour. I crossed the street, looking over my shoulder. There was no-one following me.

This was definitely the place, I thought to myself.

I noted the missing ‘N’ from the neon sign, declaring the ‘DI-ER’. Although it too, was in darkness, I knocked and waited.

“Yes?” a disembodied voice asked.

“A Coke and two vanilla milkshakes please”.

The door opened and the sound of music and laughter floated out.

“Welcome to Pearl’s Speakeasy” he said, and hurried me in.

By Sarah ©2017

Word count: 100

Image credit Jesse Williams

Prompt: Bikurgurl 100 Word Wednesday, Week 23

5 thoughts on “Pearl’s”

  1. I’d also noticed the unlit ‘N’ making it appear as if it were a ‘DIER’ … but you wrote it beautifully with the fun burger joint speakeasy of deliciousness 🙂 Thank you so much for joining us again this week!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Bikurgurl

Leave a Reply

