Scribblings by Sarah, Stories by Sarah

Waterproof


Image courtesy of Bikurgirl

 

I checked my watch. Only minutes until they arrived and I still had to prepare the salad!Cracking my knuckles, I psyched myself up to chop like a demon. I sliced the tomatoes and avocado. Then, looking at the remaining ingredient, shuddered. Taking a deep breath, I peeled back the first few layers of the onion.

As I began to dice, the tears hit me. Within minutes I was weeping.

I heard the doorbell. Wiping my eyes, I opened the door, thankful for a reprieve.

My friend grinned at me, “So I guess you never bought that waterproof mascara, huh?”


By Sarah ©2017

Prompt: 100 Word Wednesday – Week 22
Word count: 100

5 thoughts on “Waterproof”

Leave a Reply

